Malcolm Atherton

Steak. A salad I saw at the grocery store. Halloween Oreos.

In Uncategorized on October 19, 2008 at 8:49 pm

Um. It’s October. And it was 98-degrees according to the Honda on my way home from the grocery store today. Did I mention that it’s OCTOBER? I played a couple hours worth of tennis this morning and got roasted a little bit. Once I’m done with this post it’s off to slam a bottle of h2o before bed….

98-degrees. October. It does this every year! It was 74 last weekend. This state’s weather is such a tease. Oh well, at least I can play tennis outdoors even when it’s hot. Can’t do that n snow and rain.

Note: One day, images of meals in progress and other stuff from the blog will accompany these posts. That day will have to wait until we have a working camera. Dammit.

Here we go….

Steak:

These beauties got the midwest treatment – a solid rub down with some Blues Hog seasoning rub. This stuff comes via recommendation of Erin’s uncle Rob. My stash was a gift from Rob – THANK YOU, ROB! This man knows meat and is a BBQ champ and judge.

2 hours in the fridge and then straight to the grill. 5 minutes a side did the trick. Why was it tough? Could have been the $5 price tag ($9 originally, though… so there).

Salad:

This one was my favorite part of the meal. I was cutting up tomatoes and then remembered that we had 1/4 of a cucumber left. I chopped that. Then I remembered the CostCo-sized cube of cheddar that I had been snacking off of – I sliced off a couple pieces and cubed them. Then I grabbed an onion and chopped up a little of that. The whole batch got dumped into a bowl and tossed with black pepper and a soy-ginger dressing. REsult? Outstanding. It pays to loiter at the Safeway deli… you get ideas for things.

Halloween Oreos:

Orange filling inside my favorite cookie. Nothing else to say but Halloween rules (and I love me some Oreos).

Booze:

We finished a bottle of Cab that I got at Bevmo on Thursday but I can’t remember what it was called. Nothing great but it had a nice spice to it.

I give tonights meal a thumbs up. The steaks were adequate but the salad was excellent. The wife, as always, concurred that dinner was excellent. I think she’s just happy we aren’t eating Hungry Man meals for supper…

  1. it’s true. i wouldn’t touch a hungry man. except for the one i live with. the salad was the best part. i give it a 10.

Leave a comment